Blackstar Amplification
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

effects loop noisy?

3 posters

Go down

effects loop noisy? Empty effects loop noisy?

Post by sroberts5150 Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:27 am

Hello- newbie here. Love my new ht 40. Sounds great! But, I like to run fx thru the loop, and am finding it to be noisy with a hum........ground loop? suggestions?

thanks Mad

sroberts5150

Back to top Go down

effects loop noisy? Empty Re: effects loop noisy?

Post by sroberts5150 Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:36 am

Wow. Crickets....................anyone? Bueller?

sroberts5150

Back to top Go down

Post by Stringdriver Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:11 pm

I thought my effects loop was noisy/humming. Sounded like a ground loop hum; however, I've found that the very same hum happens when effects loop is by-passed and I'm looking at other causes...about to take it to the shop under warranty...

It was a maddening search with combinations of pedals, cables, etc., and my hum happens intermittently, which adds to the difficulty when diagnosing.

Not really a helpful post on my part, if one is searching for a solution, perhaps, and I wanted to share my experience as I chase a problem that sounded like the one you're having.

If you can isolate the hum to the effects loop, you're a clear step ahead of me because I could not do that.

String

Stringdriver

Back to top Go down

Post by cvogue Sun Mar 10, 2013 1:40 am

What effects are you running in the loop? Also there's a setting for the loop level, if you haven't tried changing that (button on the back of the amp) that may help troubleshoot it. I had a tuner that would hum if it didn't have its own power supply (battery or dedicated wall wart).

cvogue

Back to top Go down

Post by Stringdriver Sun Mar 10, 2013 1:29 pm

Quick Update:

Amp is back from the shop and... there was no hum while there.

So... I'm looking at the main power wiring as a likely culprit.